Sea Creature Sunday: Crabs

No not THOSE kinds of crabs – THESE kinds of crabs!

shiny
He just gets me.

 

Someone during OCEANDOTCOMM asked me what my favorite marine animal was, and I admit I felt a bit like a whale falling from the sky and couldn’t come up with words fast enough.  After I regathered my brain I decided upon crabs. Crabs, especially deep-sea crabs, are completely unimpressed with humans, and have a sense of certainty about them that THEY are apex, despite what we humans might tell ourselves. Just ask this super gangster crab!

gangstercrab
My name is Inigo Craboya. You took my claw. Prepare to die.

 

Crabs are a large group of loosely-related Crustaceans in the Decapoda order, which also includes shrimp, lobsters, crayfish, and prawns. These aquatic arthropods are mostly scavengers, filling an important role in healthy ecosystems

crabeatingisopod
Scavenger isopod being scavenged by crab. How meta.

but some have been caught on camera trying to nab a fresher meal

Crabs are generally separated out into two groups – true crabs (Pleocymata) and…not true crabs (Anomura).  (I don’t see them called “false” crabs anywhere so I guess they like to play in the gray space of taxonomy 😉)

Dr_John_Zoidberg
Dr. Zoidberg is not a true crab

 

“True crabs” is made up of nearly 7,000 species and includes some of the most important fisheries species in the U.S. – blue crabs, Dungeness crabs, and snow crabs

bluecrab_nwf.org
This is Callinectes sapidus, which means “beautiful savory swimmer.” What better than a scientific name that’s also a great fisheries ad campaign? 😆 Photo: National Wildlife Federation

The…not true crabs have 472 species, which include king crabs (you know those giant legs you get at the buffet and joust with! …. oh no, just me?), squat lobsters, and everyone’s favorite middle school pet- hermit crabs!

While your first thought for hermit crabs might be the little guys in stinky terrariums, my favorite hermit crabs have got to the species from Parapaguridae. They have cnidarian symbionts (anemones and zoanthids) as their shell – no not ON their shell, AS their shell. I also think they’re adorable 💙

paguridae
These zoanthids make this Sympapagurus look like a walking hand 👀 Photo: Okeanos

 

Crabs017
This one likes to have an anemone that matches its shell

 

Another crab that deserves to be highlighted is the family Homolidae, also known as carrier crabs.  These true crabs carry things in their back legs to act as decoys against predators. Those legs over time have changed in size to be smaller and have a little more bend in the “foot” which makes them very efficient in their carrying – and also makes the crab look like they’re wearing some A+ Derby hats! These hats can be made up of pieces of sponge, anemone or coral.

homolidae
Look at my frilly hat!
paromola_cuvieri-OCEANA
I prefer a more structured bowler. Photo: Oceana
homolidcrab-e1522521737735.png
I have no hat. 😢

 

Crabs have hard exoskeletons made up of chitin, which is most similar to cellulose chemically, but I think of it as being similar to keratin in human nails.  In order to grow larger, crabs have to periodically shed their exoskeleton, and during this time many species can also regrow missing claws or legs. How those pieces go missing….well…

crabtakesarm
Now that’s gangster.

This crab is probably trying to get a predator to leave it alone by leaving a tasty decoy, but crabs also seem to get themselves into trouble . Check out this overly curious buddy seen by ROV Hercules. And another crab that really wanted to get involved in some experiments!

ONC-crabandROV
No no no, Gary! You have to keep the sediment layers INTACT!  Photo: Ocean Networks Canada

How cool looking is that crab by the way?! I think it is genus Cyrtomaia, but I’m a coral biologist, so  ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

 

I’ve personally had this Beuroisia sp. of crab try to fight the submarine I was in rather than just walk away.  They’re just so pugilistic!

P4-327-011.jpg
Grumpy crab is grumpy. Photo: Amy Baco-Taylor

 

Crabs are most often solitary creatures but they have been seen aggregating quite a bit. The most famous is the Christmas Island red crab migration where they leave the forests to go spawn by the sea.

christmascrab

Or instead you may find an underwater crab army!

crabarmy
Lovecraft would be in awe

These spider crabs have gathered together for safety in numbers while they molt – this helps make it a little harder for them to get eaten – most of the time

hungryray
SLUUURP!

 

Well – all this talk of crabs has made me hungry, so I think I’m off to red lobster!

biscuit
For cheddar bay biscuits! I’m too poor to afford crab

 

What’s YOUR favorite crab?!?

pompom

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑